City of Melrose

Meet Our Mayor and Council
Melrose Council 2017-2019
Melrose Council 2017-2019

Incorporated February 9, 1897.

Population: 3659

Operates under the “Optional Plan A” form of government as defined in Minnesota Statutes Sec. 412.111 and is a fourth class statutory city.

Governed by an elected Mayor and four elected Council Members.



The Council meets once a month on the third Thursday at 6:00 p.m.

  • Elected at-large to four-year terms and Council at alternate two-year intervals.
  • Elected by the citizens, the Mayor serves as the official speaker for both the local government and the community as a whole.
  • Serves as presiding officer, the Mayor is also a member of the Council.
  • Elected by the citizens, the Council, along with the Mayor, has the task of balancing the many individual interests of the citizens with the long-term goals of our community.
  • Ensures that all future projects are filtered through the City-Wide Strategic Plan.
  • Oversees administrative officers, formulates policies, and exercises City powers.
  • Appoints personnel responsible for the proper administration of all affairs.
  • Oversees the City’s financial operations, authorizes necessary improvements and capital expenditures, and establishes ordinances through a professional staff. 
  • Determines needs for future development of the City.
Term Expires:  12/31/2018
Term Expires: 12/31/2018
Joe Finken (Mayor)
Term Expires:  01/01/2021
Term Expires: 01/01/2021
Justin Frieler (Council Member)
Term Expires 12/31/2021
Term Expires 12/31/2021
Tony Klasen (Council Member)
Term Expires:  12/31/2018
Term Expires: 12/31/2018
Dick Christenson (Council Member)
Term Expires:  12/31/2018
Term Expires: 12/31/2018
Josh Thieschafer (Council Member)
Home | About Melrose | New Residents | Payment / Rates | Website Map | Community Calendar | Energy Rebates | Meetings/Minutes | Employment Opportunities | Departments | Government | Parks and Recreation
powered by
Printer-friendly Version