Planning and Zoning Commission

The Planning and Zoning Commission consists of seven members who are appointed by the City Council and who serve staggered four-year terms expiring January 1 of each year. One of the members must be a City Council Member. The Chair and Vice Chair are appointed by the Planning and Zoning Commission from among its members annually.

They meet the last Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. The Planning and Zoning Commission is established under the provisions of the Minnesota Municipal Planning Act. As such, the Planning and Zoning Commission is responsible for reviewing requests and applications by petitioners to ensure that such petitions conform with the City's Land Use Regulations and Comprehensive Plan.

The powers and duties of the Planning and Zoning Commission include preparation and submittal of the Comprehensive Plan and periodic amendments to the Council for implementation, including periodic review of the Comprehensive Plan, periodic review and study of the provisions of the Zoning Ordinance and Land Subdivision Regulations, study of applications for amendments to the Zoning Ordinance, and applications for Conditional Use Permits, amendments to rezone, site plan approval, and preliminary and final plats. In each of the above capacities, the Planning and Zoning Commission submits recommendations to the Council for final action. The Planning and Zoning Commission also acts as the Board of Adjustments and Appeals on Variance requests.

  • Established in 1959 by City Council ordinance.

  • Provided powers and duties by Minnesota State Statutes.

  • Prepares City’s Comprehensive Plan, which is the guide for the orderly physical development of the City and a basis for the efficient expenditure of funds that the City Council, Commission, and all other boards and commissions should follow.

  • Acts as an advisory group to the City Council.

  • Responsible for zoning, land subdivision, building code, and housing code regulations.